Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 25628

9 Reasons We Can't Wait for Taylor Swift's New Album


It's been far too long since our beloved Taylor Swift came out with an album full of the breakup songs, girl-power anthems and dance-your-face-off jams that she's known for. But the wait is almost over, collegiettes! T. Swift's newest album, 1989, will be released on October 27, and it's been generating some serious buzz. The album was named for the year in which Taylor was born, and there is plenty of evidence to suggest that this round of songs will be totally different than anything we've heard from the songstress. Here are nine reasons we can't wait for 1989 to drop. 

1. This is T. Swift's first official pop album, and it marks her departure from country

As much as we loved the days of "Teardrops On My Guitar" and "Tim McGraw" and will always have a soft spot in our hearts for Taylor's twang-ier numbers, we're totally digging her new pop sound.

2. The first single off the album, "Shake It Off," is our jam

We dare you to watch the adorably awkward music video and not fall in love with her (and to not have that song stuck in your head for the rest of the day).

3. The music videos will undoubtedly be filled with more of the Swift-iest dance moves

If you've been living under a rock and haven't seen it, Taylor twerks. 'Nuff said.

4. At least one of the songs comes straight from the pages of her journal, according to Rolling Stone

We can't even begin to imagine what lurks within the pages of Taylor's personal journals, but we can almost guarantee it will make for some amazing songwriting material.

5. The album was heavily influenced by late '80s pop

That means influences from the likes of Madonna and Phil Collins, and all things rebellious, exciting and colorful - we can't wait, basically.

6. There are sure to be plenty of songs about a certain One Direction member

Rumor has it that the song Taylor recently released, "Out of the Woods," is about Harry Styles, T. Swift's ex (and sources say that's not the only song the Brit inspired!). 

7. If the listening parties are any indication, it's going to be amazing

Yes, Taylor invited fans to her home in Los Angeles for a listening party that featured goodies baked by T. Swift herself, tons of swag, hugs and hipster polaroids with Taylor and, of course, lots of dancing.

8. There is a song called "Bad Blood" on the album about a feud with another female pop star 

T. Swift claims that a fellow pop star tried to sabotage her arena tour, and although she isn't naming names, numerous media outleta have speculated that the song is about Katy Perry.

9. And, finally, Lorde has deemed the album "joyous"

And, therefore, it must be so. 

Mark your calendars, collegiettes... T. Swift is back.

Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 25628

Latest Images

Trending Articles

Latest Images